Thursday, December 01, 2005

Eminem: Curtain Call

Eminem's fifth album - and first Greatest Hits compilation - hits the shelves Tuesday, featuring three new tracks, as well as 13 other tracks that made Marshall Mathers one of the greatest emcees of all time.

The three new tracks - When I'm Gone, Fack and Shake That - are pretty solid tracks. Shake That features Nate Dogg, and is a classic Em club dance song, mixing in drinking, drugs and hot, naked girls dancing on poles. Fack is the weakest of the three tracks, with an annoying hook, but great verses in the mold of "Criminal" and "Kill You."

Of course, the highlight of the album is its closing track, "When I'm Gone." It's a classic "grown-up" Eminem song (think Toy Soldiers), where he acknowledges he has mistreated his ex-wife and not been an attentive father at times. If you allow yourself to get mixed up in songs, it can be an emotional track, especially if you pay attention to the verses. All in all, its one of his best songs to date.

I'm not certified to give music reviews. I just like the combination of songs on this CD, which also includes two versions of "Stan," one with Dido and a live version featuring Elton John.

Go buy it. Why? 'Cause I fucking said so.

The end of Slim Shady? You tell me.

Track Listing
1. Intro
2. Fack
3. Way I Am
4. My Name Is
5. Stan - Dido, Eminem
6. Lose Yourself
7. Shake That - Nate Dogg, Eminem,
8. Sing for the Moment
9. Without Me
10. Like Toy Soldiers
11. Real Slim Shady
12. Mockingbird
13. Guilty Conscience
14. Cleanin' out My Closet
15. Just Lose It
16. When I'm Gone
17. Stan [Live][*] - Eminem, Elton John


Post a Comment

<< Home